v0 is Vercel's AI app builder: describe a web app and it writes the code, runs a preview and deploys it to Vercel. The free plan gives new users $5 of one-time credits, 7 messages a day, Design Mode and GitHub sync. Plus costs $30 per user a month with $30 of monthly credits, $2 of free credits on each daily login and access to all models. Business costs $100 per user and switches training off by default. Usage is billed by tokens, from $0.20 per million input tokens on v0 Mini to $10 on v0 Max Fast, and ChatGPT Plus or Pro subscribers can connect their plan to use supported OpenAI models instead of v0 credits.
✓Best for: Developers and designers who work in React and Next.js and deploy on Vercel
✗Skip if: You want a flat monthly price for heavy daily use, or a backend-first builder that isn't built around Vercel's stack
This analysis is based on documentation, public user reports, and vendor materials — not yet on our own hands-on testing. How we rate
v0 by Vercel homepage, captured Oct 3, 2026.
If you already pay for ChatGPT, v0 has a new offer for you. Connect a Plus or Pro plan, and replies from supported OpenAI models stop costing v0 credits. It's the most interesting change to Vercel's app builder this year, and it shows how v0 is priced now: everything runs on credits, and credits are spent by the token.
The product itself is easy to describe. You type what you want, v0 writes a Next.js app and shows it running, and you deploy it to Vercel when it looks right. Design Mode lets you adjust the result visually, and GitHub sync lets you keep working in your own editor.
Four plans, all paid in credits
As shown on October 3, 2026, in US dollars before tax.
Free
Plus
Business
Enterprise
Price per user a month
$0
$30
$100
Custom
Included credits
$5 once, for new users
$30 a month
$30 a month
Custom
Daily extras
7 messages a day
$2 in credits on login
$2 in credits on login
Priority access, no queues
Buying more credits
No
Yes, shared across the team
Yes, shared across the team
Custom
Training on your data
Not stated
Not stated
Off by default
Never
Team features
None
Shared chats, central billing
Shared chats, central billing
SAML SSO, roles, support SLAs
Plus and Business include the same $30 of credits. The extra $70 on Business buys the training opt-out by default, not more usage, which makes it a plan for companies with strict data rules. The pricing page also shows Plus at $30 next to a crossed-out $90, without a note explaining it. Older reviews, ours included, called the $30 plan Team. It's now Plus.
Vercel's own subscriptions don't cover any of this. v0 uses your Vercel account to sign in, but a Vercel Pro team and a v0 plan are billed separately.
Why short prompts still cost tokens
Every message is measured in tokens: what you send, what v0 returns and the context it adds. That context is what surprises people. v0 includes your chat history, source files and Vercel-specific knowledge with each request, and all of it counts as input. A one-line prompt in a large project can carry a lot of tokens with it.
The model you choose matters even more. Prices are per million tokens:
Model
Input
Output
Cache read
v0 Mini
$0.20
$1.20
$0.02
v0 Pro
$2
$10
$0.20
v0 Max
$5
$25
$0.50
v0 Max Fast
$10
$50
$1
v0 Max costs 25 times as much as v0 Mini for input and about 20 times as much for output. Max Fast doubles Max's rates for output that v0 says arrives 2.5 times faster. For layout tweaks and copy changes, a cheaper model is usually enough. Save Max for the hard parts.
When credits run out, v0 pauses generation until you add more. Paid users can buy on-demand credits at any time in billing settings, and v0 always spends included credits first.
Paying with a ChatGPT plan
ChatGPT Plus and Pro subscribers can link their account from the credit menu in v0's header. Once the plan is enabled, responses from GPT-6 Astra, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Luna, GPT-5.5 and GPT-5.5 Pro count against ChatGPT usage instead of v0 credits.
Some work still uses v0 credits: image generation and editing, delegated subagents, and other supporting agent work. v0 also won't fall back to credits on its own. When your ChatGPT allowance runs out, it pauses, saves your progress and waits for you to switch billing.
For someone who already pays OpenAI, this can cut v0 costs sharply. For a team, it splits one tool across two bills, so decide early who pays for what.
Rollover and expiry
Monthly credits on paid plans roll over for one month, and v0's documentation puts the limit at 65 days. Credits you buy on top last a year from purchase. They stay in your balance if your plan lapses, though you need an active paid plan to spend them. New free users get a one-time allowance that never renews, while older free accounts keep the monthly credits they already had.
Retired plans still show up in older articles. Premium at $20 no longer takes new users, and Ultra was shut down, with its users moved to Premium and given $200 in credits.
A year of credits for some students
v0's FAQ says it offers no discounts and no regional pricing. The exception is v0 for Students. Verified students at participating schools get $20 of credits a month for a year after signing up with a student email. The list covers 15 schools for now, among them Stanford, Harvard, MIT, UC Berkeley, Georgia Tech and the University of Waterloo.
Where v0 fits, and where it doesn't
v0 is strongest on the front end. It writes React and Next.js with Tailwind and shadcn/ui components, so the code looks like what many web teams already write. The templates on its homepage show the range, from landing pages and dashboards to small games and an image-generation playground. There's also an iOS app for building from a phone.
It's a weaker fit when the backend is the hard part, or when you don't plan to host on Vercel. Our v0 vs Bolt comparison and the AI coding tools guide cover the alternatives in detail. In short, Bolt also bills by token and costs $25 for Pro, while Lovable suits people who'd rather not touch code. Developers who want AI help inside an existing repository usually end up in Cursor. Leaving v0 is easy, since the code syncs to GitHub, but every one-click path inside it leads to Vercel.
Not very far, by design. New users get $5 of credits once, which doesn't renew, and a limit of 7 messages a day. You can deploy to Vercel, edit visually in Design Mode and sync with GitHub, but free users can't buy more credits. On-demand credits need a paid plan.
Can I use my ChatGPT subscription in v0?
Yes, with ChatGPT Plus or Pro. Connect it from the credit menu in v0's header, and responses from supported OpenAI models count against your ChatGPT plan instead of v0 credits. Image generation, delegated subagents and some supporting agent work still use v0 credits. When the ChatGPT allowance runs out, v0 pauses until you switch billing back to credits.
Do v0 credits expire?
Yes. Monthly credits on paid plans roll over for one month, and v0's documentation says they expire after 65 days. Credits you buy separately last a year from purchase and need an active paid plan to use. New free users get a one-time allowance that doesn't renew.
What happened to v0 Premium and Ultra?
Premium, the old $20 plan, is being retired and no longer takes new users. Ultra was shut down: its users moved to Premium and received an extra $200 in credits. New subscribers choose between Plus, Business and Enterprise.
Is v0 included in a Vercel Pro subscription?
No. v0 uses your Vercel account to sign in, but it's billed separately from Vercel's Hobby, Pro and Enterprise plans. A one-person Vercel Pro team and a v0 plan are two separate charges.
Does v0 have a student discount?
There's a student program instead. Verified students at participating schools, including Stanford, MIT, UC Berkeley and the University of Waterloo, get $20 of credits a month for a year. Apart from that, v0's FAQ says it offers no discounts or regional pricing.